Individual Figure Rulings: S-Z
S
SABER STORM SPECIAL ATTACK
Moriko
SACRED BAND DEFY DEATH 15
Parmenio
Mandatory
Defy Death may be used to prevent an LEA if the Sacred Band is adjacent to Parmenio when it receives the LEA (remember that it must be adjacent to Parmenio on the space from which it is moving- not the space it is moving to).
SCALE
Goblin Cutters
Optional
SCATTER
Deathreavers
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Scatter triggers after rolling defense dice. However, practically speaking, it triggers after removing the destroyed Deathreaver (if applicable).
If a Deathreaver could not roll defense dice because of a power like Paralyzing Stare, Scatter will not trigger. However, in the unlikely event a Deathreaver was to roll 0 defense dice, Scatter would still trigger.
If Agent Skahen attacks a Deathreaver and inflicts a wound, remove the destroyed Deathreaver. Then, Scatter will trigger. Finally, Cover Fire will trigger.
If you successfully roll for Smoke Powder, it lasts until the end of the turn. If a figure you control then moves adjacent or is placed adjacent to a Nakita Agent (for example, a Deathreaver using Scatter), it will not have any visible hit zones while it remains adjacent to a Nakita Agent.
SCOUT LEADERSHIP
Venoc Warlord
SCOUT MELEE ATTACK ENHANCEMENT
Brave Arrow
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
SCURRY
Goblin Cutters
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
A Goblin Cutter that ends its Scurry move only adjacent to a destructible object will have no visible hit zones, as it is not considered to be engaged with that destructible object.
SEARING INTENSITY
Fire Elemental
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
This triggers after each Fire Elemental’s turn. When using Kurrok, you may be able to roll for Searing Intensity up to 3 times per order marker per figure adjacent to at least one Fire Elemental.
If a Fire Elemental is destroyed during movement (for example, due to a LEA), its turn immediately ends, and you do not get to roll for Searing Intensity.
SELF-DESTRUCT
Deathwalker 7000
Affects DOs: Yes
If you use Self-Destruct on your opponent’s last figure, the game will be a tie, as victory conditions are checked at the end of the turn.
SELF-REPLICATING
Marro Dividers
SHADOW AMBUSH
Mika Connour
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
SHADOW DANCE
Mika Connour
Optional
SHAOLIN ASSAULT
Shaolin Monks
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Opponent’s figures with multiple attacks (e.g. Shaolin Monks or Major Q10) may not target any other figures with separate attacks while still engaged with Tandros.
SHARPSHOOTER
Deadeye Dan
Affects DOs: No
SHIELD THROW SPECIAL ATTACK
Captain America
While Captain America is engaged, he may only attack figures with which he is engaged. If during the course of Shield Throwing he is no longer engaged and still has any attacks left, he may Shield Throw a figure with which he is not engaged.
SHIELD WALL
Roman Legionnaires
Mandatory
SHIELDS OF VALOR
Sentinels of Jandar
Mandatory
SHOCKING GRASP
Sharwin Wildborn
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
A skull added to a roll counts as rolling that result.
SHOTGUN BLAST SPECIAL ATTACK
James Murphy; Johnny “Shotgun” Sullivan
Affects DOs: Yes
Shotgun Blast targets the first figure and affects each adjacent figure.
SHURIKEN SPECIAL ATTACK
Shiori (SotM)
Affects DOs: Yes
Shiori rolls 2 attack dice when attacking a destructible object with Shuriken Special Attack.
SIGHTING
Microcorp Agents
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
SKY WATCHER
Brandis Skyhunter
Mandatory
SLITHER
Armoc Vipers; Elite Onyx Vipers; Fen Hydra; Venoc Vipers; Venoc Warlord; Wo-Sa-Ga
SMOKE POWDER 13
Nakita Agents
Mandatory
Roll for Smoke Powder only once when a figure is targeted, even if it is adjacent to more than 1 Nakita Agent.
You may roll for Smoke Powder multiple times per turn if the first roll fails (you roll once each time a Nakita Agent or a figure adjacent to a Nakita Agent is targeted).
Smoke Powder lasts for the duration of the figure’s turn. If it activates against a squad, it lasts until the end of that squad’s turn.
If Smoke Powder successfully triggers, the attacking figure may choose a new legal target to attack instead.
If Smoke Powder successfully triggers, the attacking figure may even choose to then attack with a special attack instead (assuming they have a legal target for that special attack). For example, if Major Q9 targets a Nakita Agent with his normal attack and the Nakita Agent successfully rolls for Smoke Powder, then Major Q9 can attack a different figure that he has Line of Sight to with Queglix Gun Special Attack.
If Smoke Powder triggers against the first Airborne Elite figure’s normal attack in a turn, the Airborne Elite may switch to using Grenade Special Attack. The Airborne Elite could still target the Nakita Agents or figures adjacent to the Nakita Agents with the Grenades because they do not need line of sight to the targeted figure.
If you successfully roll for Smoke Powder, it lasts until the end of the turn. If a figure you control then moves adjacent or is placed adjacent to a Nakita Agent (for example, a Deathreaver using Scatter), it will not have any visible hit zones while it remains adjacent to a Nakita Agent.
SNEAK ATTACK 2
Darrak Ambershard
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
SNOW AND ICE ENHANCED MOVEMENT
Dzu-Teh
SNOW STRENGTH
Nerak the Glacian Swog Rider
Mandatory
SOLDIER ATTACK ENHANCEMENT
Marcus Decimus Gallus
Mandatory
SOLDIER LEADERSHIP
Marcus Decimus Gallus
SONIC BLAST SPECIAL ATTACK
Onshu the Welkineye
SOUL DEVOUR
Shades of Bleakewoode
Optional
“You may attempt Soul Devour with ALL Shades of Bleakewoode that are engaged with unique heroes at the start of your turn.”
You may not use Soul Devour against a unique figure if you have that unique figure in your army. This is true even if your unique figure was previously destroyed.
If your chosen Lizard King is Soul Devoured, it remains your chosen Lizard King, and it still provides its bonus. However, you may not bond with that Soul Devoured Lizard King.
If your chosen Highland Fury champion is Soul Devoured, it remains your chosen champion and its wounds will still count for Highland Fury. However, you may not bond with that Soul Devoured champion, nor may your MacDirks attack it.
SOUL FURY SPECIAL ATTACK
Raakchott, Steward of Death
Affects DOs: Yes
Soul Fury does not target any figure.
There is no requirement that you have any Consume Markers to use Soul Fury.
1. Declare that you're using it.
2. Attack with 2 + X dice (X = # of Consume Markers).
3. Remove 1 Consume Marker for each affected figure.
SOUL WEAPONS
Death Knights of Valkrill
Mandatory
Affects DOs: No
SPEAR OF SANKARI
Mielki the Kyrie Warrior
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Affects DOs: No
SPEAR OF SUMMONING
Saylind the Kyrie Warrior
Optional
Saylind cannot summon herself.
A figure moved by Spear of Summoning may not trigger any powers on its army card that trigger before, during, or after moving.
SPIDER SENSE (SPIDEY-SENSE)
Spider-Man; Venom
Mandatory
The movement value is static and cannot be enhanced.
The figure need not move.
A Rechet of Bogdan that successfully rolls all skulls destroys the defending figure immediately. Thus, Spider Sense cannot be used to prevent destruction.
If Deadeye Dan attacks with Ullar’s Enhanced Rifle and rolls a skull, Spider Sense may still be used (as it does not immediately destroy the figure).
STAB IN THE BACK
Sir Hawthorne
Mandatory
If all players have Sir Hawthorne in their armies, then Stab in the Back will not take effect (even if a player’s Sir Hawthorne is destroyed).
STAFF OF LERKINTIN
Arkmer
Mandatory
STARE OF STONE
Sudema
Affects DOs: No
STEALTH ARMOR 15
Microcorp Agents
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Stealth Armor may be used to prevent leaving engagement attacks and falling damage.
STEALTH DODGE
Agent Skahen; Deathwalker 7000; Krav Maga Agents
Mandatory
These powers work against any attacking figure that is not adjacent.
These powers work against both normal and special attacks.
These powers do not require the figure to have been targeted.
STEALTH FLYING
Cyprien Esenwein; Einar Imperium; Empress Kiova; Queen Qhyrion; Shades of Bleakewoode; Silver Surfer
Figures may switch between flying and walking during a turn.
A figure with flying may choose to walk for its entire move to benefit from the road bonus.
A figure with Stealth Flying only has Disengage while Flying. It will take an LEA if it leaves an engagement while walking.
Jandar squad figures moved by Sir Gilbert’s Jandar’s Dispatch may use abilities like Flying or Disengage.
STEALTH LEAP
Master Win Chiu Woo; Shaolin Monks
A Monk does not need to be able to fit through or on each space of its leap.
A Monk will not take falling damage while leaping less than 12 levels down.
As fixed movement abilities, figures moving via Grapple Arm and Stealth Leap never receive any enhancements (such as Valda or road). A figure may choose to instead walk for all its movement to receive enhancements.
The number in Stealth Leap refers to the entire leap from Point A to Point B. The spaces in between are irrelevant, except to check the maximum height of obstacles.
The height number of 12 is the maximum vertical distance a Shaolin Monk may move with Stealth Leap, taking into account the added heights of Ruins and Battlements. This applies to the total movement (from Point A to Point B) by comparing the level of the Monk’s starting space to the level of the Monk’s ending space.
Additionally, the height number of 12 is the maximum height of an obstacle that a Shaolin Monk may move over during the Leap, measured by the Monk's starting space. As such, a Shaolin Monk may not leap over any space of the 15-height evergreen tree unless the Monk begins the leap at least 3 levels higher than the base of the 15-height tree.
Although Battlements and Ruins count towards the determination of the maximum height of a space of the Monk’s leap, figures do not. A Monk may leap over a figure with a height of 13 or greater such as Braxas.
Following the above rulings, whether a Monk may leap over the Hive depends on whether the Hive is a Terrain Obstacle or a Figure in that particular game.
STEALTHY 13
Exiles of the Sundered Sea
Mandatory
The movement value is static and cannot be enhanced.
The Exile need not move.
A Rechet of Bogdan that successfully rolls all skulls destroys the defending figure immediately. Thus, Stealthy cannot be used to prevent destruction.
If Deadeye Dan attacks with Ullar’s Enhanced Rifle and rolls a skull, Stealthy may still be used (as it does not immediately destroy the figure).
STINGER DRAIN
Marro Stingers
Optional
Stinger Drain only reminds in effect until the end of the turn.
STOMP SPECIAL ATTACK
Abomination; Incredible Hulk
Affects DOs: Yes
Stomp does not target any figure.
STRENGTH OF OAK AURA 1
Kyntella Gwyn
Mandatory
SUMMON ELEMENTAL
Kurrok the Elementalist
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
SUMMON THE RECHETS OF BOGDAN
Iskra Esenwein
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
If you take control of your opponent’s Iskra Esenwein, you cannot attempt to summon their Rechets of Bogdan. However, you could use her to attempt to summon your own Rechets of Bogdan.
SUMMON VINES
Xenithrax the Vineweaver
Optional
Xenithrax may not place the Vine glyph under a figure.
SUPER LEAP
Abomination; Incredible Hulk
A Monk does not need to be able to fit through or on each space of its leap.
A Monk will not take falling damage while leaping less than 12 levels down.
As fixed movement abilities, figures moving via Grapple Arm and Stealth Leap never receive any enhancements (such as Valda or road). A figure may choose to instead walk for all its movement to receive enhancements.
The number in Stealth Leap refers to the entire leap from Point A to Point B. The spaces in between are irrelevant, except to check the maximum height of obstacles.
The height number of 12 is the maximum vertical distance a Shaolin Monk may move with Stealth Leap, taking into account the added heights of Ruins and Battlements. This applies to the total movement (from Point A to Point B) by comparing the level of the Monk’s starting space to the level of the Monk’s ending space.
Additionally, the height number of 12 is the maximum height of an obstacle that a Shaolin Monk may move over during the Leap, measured by the Monk's starting space. As such, a Shaolin Monk may not leap over any space of the 15-height evergreen tree unless the Monk begins the leap at least 3 levels higher than the base of the 15-height tree.
Although Battlements and Ruins count towards the determination of the maximum height of a space of the Monk’s leap, figures do not. A Monk may leap over a figure with a height of 13 or greater such as Braxas.
Following the above rulings, whether a Monk may leap over the Hive depends on whether the Hive is a Terrain Obstacle or a Figure in that particular game.
SWAMP WATER STRENGTH
Marro Drudge
Mandatory
SWAMP WATER TUNNEL
Marro Drudge
SWASHBUCKLER
Bok-Bur-Na
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Affects DOs: Yes
SWEEPING SWORD SPECIAL ATTACK
Shurrak
Affects DOs: Yes
Sweeping Sword targets the first figure and affects each figure adjacent to both Shurrak and that targeted figure.
SWING LINE 4
Spider-Man; Venom
A Monk does not need to be able to fit through or on each space of its leap.
A Monk will not take falling damage while leaping less than 12 levels down.
As fixed movement abilities, figures moving via Grapple Arm and Stealth Leap never receive any enhancements (such as Valda or road). A figure may choose to instead walk for all its movement to receive enhancements.
The number in Stealth Leap refers to the entire leap from Point A to Point B. The spaces in between are irrelevant, except to check the maximum height of obstacles.
The height number of 12 is the maximum vertical distance a Shaolin Monk may move with Stealth Leap, taking into account the added heights of Ruins and Battlements. This applies to the total movement (from Point A to Point B) by comparing the level of the Monk’s starting space to the level of the Monk’s ending space.
Additionally, the height number of 12 is the maximum height of an obstacle that a Shaolin Monk may move over during the Leap, measured by the Monk's starting space. As such, a Shaolin Monk may not leap over any space of the 15-height evergreen tree unless the Monk begins the leap at least 3 levels higher than the base of the 15-height tree.
Although Battlements and Ruins count towards the determination of the maximum height of a space of the Monk’s leap, figures do not. A Monk may leap over a figure with a height of 13 or greater such as Braxas.
Following the above rulings, whether a Monk may leap over the Hive depends on whether the Hive is a Terrain Obstacle or a Figure in that particular game.
SWIRLING VORTEX
Air Elemental
Mandatory
Swirling Vortex only affects the movement of figures that walk on spaces. The FAQ and Book list many examples:
A flying figure may land next to an Air Elemental, unaffected by Swirling Vortex.
Tul-Bak-Ra may Teleport adjacent to an Air Elemental.
A Shaolin Monk may Stealth Leap adjacent to an Air Elemental.
An Earth Elemental may use Underground Movement to move adjacent to an Air Elemental.
A flying figure within 2 spaces of an Air Elemental is still considered to be affected for the purposes of blocking movement of non-flying figures.
A figure with Ghost Walk or Phantom Walk may not move through a figure affected by Swirling Vortex.
SWORD OF RECKONING 4
Agent Carr
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
​
T
TACTICAL DISENGAGEMENT 7
Sir Dupuis
Mandatory
You must roll once for each figure with which he is leaving an engagement.
Even if Sir Dupuis leaves an engagement with a Knight of Weston and is subject to A Coward’s Reward, you still only roll once for that figure (either ignoring all or no wounds from that specific Knight).
TACTICAL SWITCH
Warforged Soldiers
Optional
Each attacking Warforged Soldier may use Tactical Switch during the same turn, but the same figure may never be moved more than once in a turn by Tactical Switch.
A figure moved by Tactical Switch will be subject to abilities like Engagement Strike.
Tactical Switch may not be used against an adjacent figure with Cyberclaw (remember, placing is the same thing as moving for the purposes of special powers).
A figure moved by Tactical Switch is not subject to falling damage.
Tactical Switch can cause the Warforged Soldier to no longer be engaged with the figure. If that Warforged Soldier is no longer engaged to that figure, it cannot attack that turn.
If a Warforged Soldier uses Tactical Switch and is placed adjacent to Tandros Kreel, it is no longer able to attack the original target, and it may not attack that turn.
A Warforged Soldier may use Tactical Switch to exit Proftaka (Pit Trap) if it is adjacent to a friendly figure.
TACTICIAN
Captain America
Mandatory
TALON GRAB
Wyvern
Talon Grab is a mechanically simple ability if you follow this two-step procedure:
-
Move the Wyvern like you would move any other double-spaced flying figure.
-
After you have finished moving the Wyvern, choose and place a figure that the Wyvern passed over adjacent to the Wyvern on a same-level space.
Wyvern will take a leaving engagement attack when it starts to fly (even if you Talon Grab that figure).
A figure moved by Talon Grab will be subject to abilities like Engagement Strike.
A Wyvern that Talon Grabs a figure with an ability like Engagement Strike will not be subject to that ability (as it is not moving adjacent to that figure).
TARGETING BEACON
Omnicron Repulsors
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
TASKMASTER BONDING
Death Chasers of Thesk
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
TECHNO HATRED
Quasatch Hunters
Mandatory
TELEPORT REINFORCEMENTS
Tul-Bak-Ra
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Tul-Bak-Ra may not place a figure onto a glyph via Teleport Reinforcements.
Targeted and affected figures are determined at attack declaration. As such, if Tul-Bak-Ra is wounded by an explosion attack and teleports a Marro figure adjacent to him, that figure will not be affected.
If you successfully roll for Smoke Powder, it lasts until the end of the turn. If a figure you control then moves adjacent or is placed adjacent to a Nakita Agent (for example, a Deathreaver using Scatter), it will not have any visible hit zones while it remains adjacent to a Nakita Agent.
If Tul-Bak-Ra is attacked by a power like Poison Sting Special Attack and receives a wound (and is not destroyed) while the attack is continuing, he can Teleport Reinforcements as each wound (or group of wounds for the initial attack) are inflicted and he is not destroyed.
TELEPORTATION
Tul-Bak-Ra
As a placement ability, Teleportation is unaffected by Heavy Snow.
TERRIFYING AURA
Raelin the Kyrie Warrior (AoA)
Mandatory
Affects DOs: No
TETSUBO SPECIAL ATTACK
Gurei-Oni
Affects DOs: Yes
Tetsubo targets the first figure and affects the secondarily chosen figure.
THE CAPTAIN'S WAY
Knaves of the Silver Scimitar
Mandatory
You may not Mutiny if you cannot choose a new Captain for The Captain’s Way because all associated squad figures are destroyed.
THE DROP
Airborne Elite
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
You may not use The Drop more than once per game.
You may not Drop an Airborne under an overhang.
Airborne Elite may Drop adjacent to a destructible object.
THORIAN SPEED
Sgt. Drake Alexander (RotV); Sgt. Drake Alexander (SotM); Sgt. Drake Alexander (AoA)
Mandatory
THROW 14
Jotun
Optional
Figures thrown by Jotun are not subject to falling damage.
As a placement effect, figures thrown by Jotun are not affected by Heavy Snow.
Jotun may Throw a figure that has the Flying special power if the Wind glyph is active or if the figure’s powers are negated.
Jotun may not Throw a figure affected by Cyberclaw.
Jotun may not Throw a figure onto the same space it currently occupies because it is not empty.
THUNDER RAM ASSAULT SPECIAL ATTACK
Eltahale
Affects DOs: Yes
Thunder Ram targets the first figure and affects each subsequently chosen figure.
Eltahale may not chain this attack from a destructible object that does not have a targeting point to an opponent’s figure because that destructible object will not have clear sight to the opponent’s figure.
THUNDER STEP
Eltahale
Affects DOs: No
You must place Eltahale on a different space (as her own space is not empty).
TOUGH
Gorillinators; Iron Golem; Mogrimm Forgehammer
Mandatory
If a Warforged Soldier’s defense dice is reduced to 0, Warforged Resolve will add 1 automatic shield. However, if a Warforged Soldier is prevented from rolling defense dice by a power like Paralyzing Stare, then Warforged Resolve will not trigger.
TOXIC SKIN
Kee-Mo-Shi
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
TRACKING
Brave Arrow
TRAMPLE STOMP
Tor-Kul-Na
Affects DOs: No
The space Tor-Kul-Na moves onto with Trample Stomp costs 1 movement point.
TRICKY SPEED 4
Otonashi
Tricky Speed 4 does not stack if Otonashi begins her move adjacent to more than one tricky figure.
TURN UNDEAD SPECIAL ATTACK
Ana Karithon
Ana Karithon may not use Turn Undead against a figure that has had its species changed to Hybrid by Werewolf Lord’s Lycanthropy.
TWIST THE BLADE
Raelin the Kyrie Warrior (AoA)
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
If a wound prevention power like Acolarh’s Leaf of the Home Tree Aura prevents a wound from the Poison roll, it does not retroactively prevent the wounds inflicted by the attack roll (or previous Poison rolls that turn).
Crixus will not receive any additional wounds from abilities like Mortal Strike, Poison Weapons, or Poison Sting Special Attack if he rolls at least one shield on defense.
If Tul-Bak-Ra is attacked by a power like Poison Sting Special Attack and receives a wound (and is not destroyed) while the attack is continuing, he can Teleport Reinforcements as each wound (or group of wounds for the initial attack) are inflicted and he is not destroyed.
TWISTER SPECIAL ATTACK
Ewashia, Master of Tides
Affects DOs: Yes
Ewashia targets one figure and affects the rest.
Ewashia is within 1 space of a water tile if she is 1 Flying move away from it.
The figures must defend in order of the line (moving from the targeted figure out).
Ewashia only needs line of sight to the targeted figure.
The line itself does not need to be uninterrupted by obstacles.
Ewashia is not affected by her own Twister Special Attack, but she is affected by another Ewashia’s Twister Special Attack.
​
U
ULLAR ENHANCED RIFLE SPECIAL ATTACK
Deadeye Dan
Affects DOs: No
If Deadeye Dan attacks with Ullar’s Enhanced Rifle and rolls a skull, Disappearing Ninja may still be used (as it does not immediately destroy the figure).
ULLAR WARLORD BONDING
Armoc Vipers
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
ULLAR'S AMULET
Acolarh
ULLAR'S BOLT OF THE WITHERWOOD
Atlaga
Optional
UNDERGROUND MOVEMENT
Earth Elemental
UNHOLY BONDING
Death Knights of Valkrill
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
UNLEASHED FURY
Anubian Wolves
Mandatory
Unleashed Fury only remains in effect until the end of the turn.
UNLEASHED FURY ENHANCEMENT
Khosumet the Darklord
Mandatory
UTGAR'S CUTLASS 14
Bok-Bur-Na
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Affects DOs: No
UTGAR'S ORDERS
Minions of Utgar
​
V
VALIANT ARMY DEFENSE BONUS
4th Massachusetts Line
Mandatory
4th Mass will receive their bonus so long as you do not control any army cards that are not Valiant. As such, if the figures from your non-Valiant army cards have not entered the battlefield yet and/or have all been destroyed, then you receive the defense bonus.
VANISH 9
Isamu
Mandatory
The movement value is static and cannot be enhanced.
Isamu does not need to move if he is already unengaged.
A Rechet of Bogdan that successfully rolls all skulls destroys the defending figure immediately. Thus, Vanish cannot be used to prevent destruction.
If Deadeye Dan attacks with Ullar’s Enhanced Rifle and rolls a skull, Vanish may still be used (as it does not immediately destroy the figure).
If a figure with a damage prevention ability that is conditioned upon ending their movement unengaged (Disappearing Ninja, Vanish) is engaged with a figure that has Cyberclaw, then that figure will not be able to use that damage prevention ability.
Isamu may end its Vanish move adjacent to a destructible object because it is not a figure.
VENOM RAY SPECIAL ATTACK
Estivara
Estivara may not attack a destructible object with Venom Ray Special Attack because it has an auto-destroy effect.
If a wound prevention power like Acolarh’s Leaf of the Home Tree Aura prevents a wound from the Poison roll, it does not retroactively prevent the wounds inflicted by the attack roll (or previous Poison rolls that turn).
Crixus will not receive any additional wounds from abilities like Mortal Strike, Poison Weapons, or Poison Sting Special Attack if he rolls at least one shield on defense.
If Venom inflicts at least one wound with Venom Ray Special Attack and Crixus rolled at least one shield, Estivara may roll the D20 once. No extra wounds can be inflicted and Estivara cannot reroll, but if she rolls a 20, Crixus will be immediately destroyed.
If Tul-Bak-Ra is attacked by a power like Poison Sting Special Attack and receives a wound (and is not destroyed) while the attack is continuing, he can Teleport Reinforcements as each wound (or group of wounds for the initial attack) are inflicted and he is not destroyed.
VENOMOUS STING
Wyvern
Mandatory
Affects DOs: No
VILE INJECTION
Iron Lich Viscerot
Optional
The Surge marker only affects that one Eisenek figure for that one turn.
VYDAR’S RANGE ENHANCEMENT AURA
Laglor
​
W
WAIT THEN FIRE
4th Massachusetts Line; 10th Regiment of Foot; Ashigaru Harquebus
Mandatory
Wait then Fire only remains in effect until the end of the turn.
“If you move any of the figures during that turn, then none of them get the bonus die.”
WAR CRY
Mohican River Tribe
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Being adjacent to a destructible object does not satisfy the War Cry condition because the figure is not considered to be engaged with that destructible object.
WARFORGED RESOLVE
Heirloom; Warforged Soldiers
Mandatory
If a Warforged Soldier’s defense dice is reduced to 0, Warforged Resolve will add 1 automatic shield. However, if a Warforged Soldier is prevented from rolling defense dice by a power like Paralyzing Stare, then Warforged Resolve will not trigger.
WARLORD BONDING
Roman Legionnaires
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
WARRIOR’S ATTACK SPIRIT 1
Finn the Viking Champion
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
WARRIOR’S ARMOR SPIRIT 1
Thorgrim the Viking Champion
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
WARRIOR’S SWIFTNESS SPIRIT
Eldgrim the Viking Champion
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
WATER CLONE
Marro Warriors
A newly cloned Marro Warrior may neither attack nor roll for Water Clone that turn.
All Marro Warriors may either attack or attempt to Water Clone. You may never attack with Marro Warriors and roll for Water Clone in the same turn.
A dropped Marro Warrior cannot be brought back with Water Clone.
WATER MASTERY
Water Elemental
Mandatory
WATER SUITS
Microcorp Agents
Mandatory (+2 Defense)
WATER TUNNEL
Water Elemental
WATER WEAKNESS
Obsidian Guards
Mandatory
WEB SPECIAL ATTACK
Spider-Man; Venom
A destructible object will not roll 1 less defense die when defending against Web Special Attack.
WHIP 12
James Murphy
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Affects DOs: No
Being unable to roll defense dice negates special powers that require rolling defense dice.
If a Deathreaver could not roll defense dice because of a power like Paralyzing Stare, Scatter will not trigger.
If a Warforged Soldier is prevented from rolling defense dice by a power like Paralyzing Stare, then Warforged Resolve will not trigger.
WHIRLWIND ASSAULT
Raelin the Kyrie Warrior (SotM)
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
Opponent’s figures with multiple attacks (e.g. Shaolin Monks or Major Q10) may not target any other figures with separate attacks while still engaged with Tandros.
WILD PACK MOVEMENT
Marrden Hounds
Mandatory
WILD SWING SPECIAL ATTACK
Jotun
Affects DOs: Yes
Wild Swing targets the first figure and affects each adjacent figure.
WITCHCRAFT TELEKINESIS
Kilkorax the Kyrie Warrior
Optional
A figure moved by Witchcraft Telekinesis will be subject to abilities like Engagement Strike.
WOUNDED SMASH
Krug
Mandatory
WRIST ROCKET SPECIAL ATTACK
Major Q10
WYRMLING BONDING
Black Wyrmling; Blue Wyrmling; Red Wyrmling; White Wyrmling
Mandatory Trigger; Optional Effect
​
Z
ZETTIAN TARGETING
Zettian Guards
Mandatory
Affects DOs: Yes
ZOMBIE ONSLAUGHT SPECIAL ATTACK
Zombies of Morindan
Affects DOs: No
Zombies may not use Zombie Onslaught against a destructible object because they are not considered engaged with that destructible object.
ZOMBIES RISE AGAIN
Zombies of Morindan
Mandatory
A dropped Zombie of Morindan cannot be brought back with Zombies Rise Again.



